Apple and Coconut Crumble…always a comforting thought!

Photobucket

There is something comforting about apple pie and as I browse through the different posts, I often see recipes for ” the ultimate apple pie” or “apple pie like my mother use to make it”!
The recipe that I am sharing with you today is a recipe that I got from my mother, but it is not exactly a family heirloom or such, but just a delicious apple pie recipe with a few twists.

Apple and Coconut Crumble

Ingredients

For the crust

125gr butter – room temperature
180ml sugar
375ml flour
10ml baking powder
375ml fine dry coconut

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Mix flour, baking powder and coconut and add to butter mixture. You have dry crumbly mixture. Press 2/3 of this mixture in a pie dish and keep aside. Now make the filling.

For the filling

1 large tinned pie apples – about 825gr
125ml sugar
125 ml sultanas
1 Tbsp custard powder

Heat the apples, sugar and sultanas with a little water in a pot. Mix custard powder with a little water and mix in with the apples. Cook for 1 minute and let it cool. Spoon the pie filling into the prepared pie dish and to with the remaining 1/3 dry crumb mixture. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 180 C. Serve with ice-cream, clotted cream or yogurt for a lighter option.
Photobucket

My blogger friend Helene from La cuisine d’Helene has honored me with another award. I love Helene’s site and she has a great heart. She was one of the first to respond to my appeal for help to get the gardens going. Thanks Helene for the award, the support and the kind comments that you always leave on my site. You are indeed an inspiration.

I am passing this award to:

Maryann from Finding la Dolce Vita – simply because I feel that I know and like her…and we have never met!

