Angelfish with Millet Risotto makes a very interesting meal!

PhotobucketSnoek is a fish that is indigenous to South African waters and is available during the winter months when you can see fisherman trying to sell their “Day’s Catch” on the side of the roads. It is a very popular fish and here are some of my fellow South African foodies who have made classic recipes such as smoorsnoek, snoekbraai and snoek pates.
At the moment it is not in season, but a fish that is available at the moment is Angelfish. It sold for R23.99 per kilo yesterday and it was a good buy for filleted, boneless fish. Angelfish has a texture very similar to snoek – the flesh is dry and firm, not at all like hake or kingklip.

Angelfish is ideal for smoking and that gave me the idea to add the smoky taste without having to take out the smoker. I had to think of something to keep the fish moist and came up with this idea – stuff the fish with feta, sun-dried tomatoes and pesto and wrap it in bacon before you bake it.

 Angelfish with Millet risotto
Ingredients

about 1kg angelfish – filleted and skin removed.
1 rings feta cheese
sun-dried tomato pesto
basil pesto
salt and pepper
250gr bacon rashers

Pre-heat oven to 180CCut the fish in even-sized blocks – about 6x6cm( I got 2 bocks out of one fillet). Cut the feta cheese in “sticks”(about the size of a potato chip). Lay a piece of cheese on one block of fish, top with the 2 pestos and then another piece of fish. Wrap in bacon – I used 3 rashers per “parcel”. Secure with kebab sticks and bake in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. I overcooked my fish slightly, so consider yourself warned.

Another interesting facet to this meal was the Millet risotto. Karen Railey who is the author of the popular book, How to Improve Fading Memory and Thinking Skills with Nutrition, says that Millet is highly nutritious, non-glutinous and like buckwheat and quinoa, is not an acid forming food so is soothing and easy to digest. In fact, it is considered to be one of the least allergenic and most digestible grains available and it is a warming grain so will help to heat the body in cold or rainy seasons and climates. We are having a very cold week here in the middle of summer and my whole family has got the sniffles. I thought this was a great accompaniment with the fish and indeed a heart and body-warming meal.

1 onion – finely chopped

1 cup dry millet
3 cups vegetable stock
125ml white wine
1 Tbsp olive oil
100ml grated parmesan cheese

Saute onion in olive oil. Add millet and stir until all grains are covered with oil. Add wine and cook until the wine is absorbed. Add all the stock and cook until thick and creamy. Stir in the cheese and serve piping hot.


Last but not least, I received another award, this time from the blogger who is living my dream(in France.) Her name is Hopie and her site is called Hopie’s Kitchen.
I received this Yum-Yum blog award from her and it is so special to me, because that is exactly what I am after when preparing a meal – the Yum factor! I pass this award on to every blogger that I visit on a daily basis – I am gob-smacked at some of your creations. Thanks Hopie!

