Spaghetti with Clams

Photobucket  
Linguine with Clams is such a classic recipe, yet I have never made it, well not until last night that is! I had to use spaghetti as that was the only pasta I had available, but the result was delicious.
I am still trying to use less cream and oil, so I substituted the normal cream with some Orley Whip Lite Creme. The sauce was still creamy and comforting but without the “oh no, I- ate- to -much- again- feeling”. Dad and the children loved the clams and there was a lot or slurping and sucking going on at the table last night. Would you like to give it a try?

Pasta with Clams

Ingredients

1 Kg frozen clams
2 medium onions chopped finely
3 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
1 Tbsp olive oil
5ml curry powder
1 cup of white wine
125ml water
1 heaped Tbs cornflour
125ml milk – us skimmed if you like, I used 2%
1 sachet(125ml) Orley Whip lite creme
Chopped parsley
500gr Pasta cooked – linguine or spaghetti
grated parmesan cheese

Photobucket

Method

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil. Add clams, wine and water and cook for about 5 minutes or until all the clams have opened – discard those that haven’t opened. Mix cornflour with the milk and add to the clams. Stir and cook for a while, then add the creme. Season with salt and lots of ground black pepper. Add the cooked pasta and mix through. Serve with parsley and grated parmesan cheese

Before I forget, A new blogger friend of mine, Abigail, was so kind to send me an award a while back and I am ashamed to say that I have forgotten about it. Abigail is new to my blog, but her comments are uplifting and she has a really cool site too, called Mamatouille. Check out her Rum-and-raisin cheesecake. Thanks so much Aby. I am sending this award to the first 5 people who commented om my last post.

Sophia Lindop – a fellow South African Blogger who is SO famous!

Sylvie from A pot of tea and a biscuit – Her pictures makes me drool, especially the roasted garlic one.

Rose from Homemade Heaven – Also an South African blogger. Her Other blog on Food24 is quite popular.

Proud Italian Cook – Marie is one of my Idols in the blogosphere. I love the way she cooks!

Snooky doodle – Don’t you just love this name? I love the name, the site and the photography!

