Pork Chop stuffed with Ricotta, sundried tomatoes and sage

Photobucket

Everyone talks about a writers block, so I guess what I have experienced this week could be caused by a writers blog(block)!!!! I cooked with my friend and fellow blogger Sophia for a big corporate function on Wednesday and it took me the whole of Thursday to recover.
We only got to bed at 3 in the morning. I had a blast though and the adrenaline pumping through my body was amazing, yet very nerve racking at times. Back to Sophia…..I read about her on Cooksister quite a while back and decided to email her. She promptly replied and we ended up having breakfast together only to discover that we, like all of you, share this amazing passion…..the art of cooking.

Sophia is a private chef and operates from her beautiful home. Go and check out her stunning website and very informative foodblog and if you ever visit South Africa, make sure to contact her for an amazing culinary tour, called the Taste of Cape. Thanks Sophia, my friend I was honored that you asked me to help and I had such fun!!!!!!

What I needed, was a boost and it came in the form of not one but two awards.

The first one came about a week or so ago ands is called the “I love your blog”. It was passed on to me from the wonderful Val of More than burnt toast. Thanks so much Val, I look out for your visits and value your comments. Val is an amazing cook, brilliant mom and she should be working for the Canadian tourism board, because she single- handedly forced me to put Canada on our list of places to visit!!!!! I would love to pass this award to:

Rosemary from Homemade heaven
Nafisa from Nafisa’s Hell’s Kitchen
Janine from The Baking Beauties
Darius from Everyday cooking
Daziano from Italialicious
Hopie from Hopie’s Kitchen
Sylvie from A pot of tea and a biscuit

Well done everyone, play along if you wish. There are a few “rules” so please read carefully…

1) Add the logo of the award to your blog.
2) Add a link to the person who awarded it to you (as shown above).
3) Nominate at least seven other blogs.
4) Add links to those blogs on your blog.

The second award came from one of my most loyal visitors, Jan. I am sure you have met her, because she is very generous with positive feedback on everybody’s blogs, I see! If you have not met her, go to What do I want to cook today? and read all about her delicious cooking. Thanks Jan, I appreciate this more than you know.

…because diamonds are precious stones and not easy to come by I am handing this award to Kat and Mathew from A Good Appetite . I like their site and they know about eating well!!!!!

1. When you receive a diamond, make a post about it on your blog.
2. Name the blogger from whom you received it.
3. Award the diamonds to seven other bloggers.
4. Link them.
5. Tell them they received an award.

Finally I can get on with today’s meal. We like eating pork although I have a few rules about that. It must be well cooked, smell good when I open the packet and come from a good source. We love pork neck chops, because it is not dry and the fat(flavor) is in the meat and not on the outside like with a regular loin chop. Beggars cannot be choosers, so when I found these lovely fresh and thick loin chops, I knew they had to stuffed to stay moist during cooking. I had a few bits and bobs in the fridge and this is what I came up with.

Pork chops stuffed with ricotta, sundried tomatoes and sage.
Β 
4 Tbsp ricotta cheese
4 sun ripened tomatoes – the ones soaked in preserved in olive oil
8 sage leaves
1 Tbsp capers
Mix the above mentioned ingredients. Make an insert on the inside of the chop to create a pocket and stuff the filling in there. Secure with a toothpick. Repeat with the other 3 chops.
Season the chops with salt and pepper and brush with olive oil. Lay a sage leaf in the chop and fry in a skillet with the sage facing the pan. Cook until lovely and brown and meat well done. I serve this with tomato salad and roasted vegetables. A delicious meal without much effort.

