Waiter, there’s something in my ……….

When I saw the theme for this month’s Waiter, there’s something in my …….. is picnic food, I just had to enter. I LOVE picnics. It does not always have to be planned weeks in advance( I like those too), but a simple “Let’s have coffee and sarmies at the beach” is AS good and it always creates wonderful memories for our children.

This event is hosted by Cooksister, SpittoonExtra and thepassionatecook so if you want to join the picnic, just click on the image below.

My entry for this event is a Goat’s Cheese and Caramelized Red onion Tart. It is super easy to make and simply scrumptious.!!!

Ingredients ( for about 6 tarts)

1 roll puff pastry
1 large red onion – sliced thinly
pinch of sugar
1 Tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper.
100 gr Goat’s cheese – I used French onion and chives
Homemade Organic Tomato Chutney
a sprig or thyme

Heat oil in a pan and add onion. Brown slightly and add sugar, seasoning and thyme. Keep browning the onion until it is soft and fully caramelized.
Roll out the pastry and cut 6 rounds. Roll the edges slightly to form a crust. Spread the chutney lavishly on the pastry. Top with some onion and then crumble the coat’s cheese on top. Sprinkle with some thyme and bake for 15-20 minutes. When cooled down, layer the tarts with pieces of greaseproof paper in between. Tie together with some string and your off to a perfect picnic spot somewhere. Serve with a simple salad for a delicious meal.

