Roly Poly – a Beatrix Potter classic

Although many countries claim to be the creators of this delicious dessert, I believe it is the British who deserves the applause. Poor old Samuel Whiskers nearly ended up being the filling to a delicious Savory Roly Poly in the Beatrix Potter Story.
I am certainly not British and neither are my ancestors , but I grew up with Roly Poly…. Always served as part of a Sunday lunch and always made with apricot jam and ALWAYS served with a thin, not- too- sweet custard.

I had to cater for 30 odd people this week so I made the recipe x4. It was my children’s first introduction to this treat and I have no doubt that the Roly Poly tradition will now carry on to the next generation…

Roly Poly

Sift together:
540 ml flour
20ml baking powder
2 ml salt

Rub in:
200gr grated butter – until it resembles fine breadcrumbs

Beat together:
2 eggs
100ml milk

Now mix egg mixture with flour mixture until you have a not to soft dough. Roll out on a floured surface until you have a big rectangular shape- about 5mm thick. Spread with apricot jam and roll up like a jam roll. Roll the dough from the “lon” side. Slice in 2cm slices and place in a baking dish(Pyrex).

Melt together

250ml sugar
250ml water
zest of a lemon
juice of a lemon.
When sugar has dissolved, pour over dough circles and bake for 30 min at 180C.
Serve piping hot with some custard.

