Thai flavors and a quick supper.

I am a complete novice when it comes to making Thai food, but my taste buds have been yearning a bowl of spicy Thai noodles for a long time. I also wanted to make the meal a little more substantial and decided to make some Thai fishcakes.
In the end the only thing ” Thai-ish” in the fishcakes was the flavor as my Foodsearch for Thai fishcakes delivered a variety of methods and ingredients, none of which I particularly liked. So I made fishcakes my way, but with a Thai twist.

Thai Fish cakes

500gr white fish
1 large potato -cooked and mashed
3 Tbs coconut milk
1 small chili chopped
4 Tbs chopped scallion
1 clove garlic – grated of chopped finely
1 Tbs grated ginger
1 egg
salt to taste.
1 handful chopped coriander

You can place all ingredients in a processor and pulse until smooth, but I do not like the too-smooth texture. I chopped my fish until fine, but not mushy. Add all other ingredients, form small patties and fry in a hot skillet with some vegetable.

For the noodles, I just followed my instincts and you may have to adjust the ingredients slightly to your taste. I also used ordinary spaghetti as I did not have any noodles at hand.

“Thai” Noodles

1 packet spaghetti, cooked
1 thumb-sized piece ginger – chopped in fine strips
2 cloves of garlic – chopped
1 red pepper – sliced in fine strips
1 yellow pepper – sliced in fine strips
1 green pepper – sliced in fine strips
3 Tbs vegetable oil
about 15ml sesame oil
3 Tbs soy
3 Tbs sweet soy
1 Tbs fish sauce.
1 Tbs brown or palm sugar
juice of a lemon

1 red chili chopped
2 spring onions – chopped.

Heat vegetable oil in and stir fry the ginger, garlic and peppers – do not overcook.
Add all the sauces and sugar and taste for seasoning. Add the cooked, drained spaghetti and mix through. Garnish with chopped chili and spring onions.
My family loved this meal and although not true Thai it certainly had the flavors of the Orient.

