Coffee and Walnut cake with an Iced-coffee Frosting

I have given you this basic sponge recipe before, but this time I decided to give it a slight twist. I love coffee and to me an Iced coffee is the ultimate treat, but at the moment it is so cold and rainy that the idea of downing a glass full of cold liquid does not appeal to me at all.
I like to bake at least 1 cake on a Friday for spontaneous visits from friends and family. So on Friday, I decided to go for the basic sponge, because it is flop proof, but added some chopped walnuts and some coffee flavor to it. The recipe yields two big cakes – I made a 4-layered cake. You can easily half the recipe.

Coffee and Walnut cake 

 Basic Sponge

450 gr self raising flour
450 gr soft butter
450 gr caster sugar
8 eggs
10ml baking powder
pinch of salt

Put all the ingredients in a mixer and beat until thick and fluffy add a little milk if too stiff.

For the Walnut and Coffee cake

Mix basic sponge and add:

200 ml chopped walnuts
15ml strong coffee essence – I used a good instant coffee, mixed with a little water.

Grease 2×23 cm cake tins. Divide batter into two tins. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until skewer comes out clean.
Cool.

Frosting

500 ml cream
1 pkt instant vanilla pudding
10 ml coffee essence – I used instant coffee with a little water.
250ml cold milk

Mix vanilla pudding and milk and let it set in fridge.
Beat cream until stiff, add vanilla pudding and coffee and beat until fluffy.
Cut cake in 4 layers and spread frosting on liberally.

