Still feel like Pastry?

As promised yesterday, I want to show you just how versatile this pastry is.(see previous post)Today I made a simple ground beef filling and I played around with different sizes and serving suggestions. I am sure you will have even better ideas.
I forgot to tell our yesterday that you can make your little pies or tarts ahead of time and freeze them. When needed, pop them in a hot oven (straight from the freezer) and bake slightly longer.

Then I was tagged for a MEME by two wonderful ladies from More than burnt toast and Passionate Baker and my answers are long overdue. So here goes.
1) LAST MOVIE U SAW IN A THEATRE?

I am not good on movies, so don’t laugh…..Lion King!!!!

2) WHAT BOOK ARE U READING?

Falling Cloudberries by Tessa Kiros

3) FAVOURITE BOARD GAME?

Snakes and Ladders with my children – we’re introducing Monopoly now…

4) FAVOURITE MAGAZINE?

Food and Home

5) FAVOURITE SMELLS?

zest of a lemon, freshly cut lawn, coffee

6) FAVOURITE SOUNDS?

Rain on a zinc roof, children laughing, my children singing(they have the talent!)

7) WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD?

Not knowing where your children are. To arrive late at a destination.

8) WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU THINK OF WHEN U WAKE?

I make a conscious decision to always start my day with a thought of gratitude. Followed by a recipe.

9) FAVOURITE FAST FOOD PLACE?

I hate fast food and seldom go there. I will stop for a good loaf of bread and break it off in chunks – is that fast food?

10) FUTURE CHILDS NAME?

I have two beautiful children and moving on to 50 ( a little bit of a late bloomer)so babies….I think not!

11) FINISH THIS STATEMENT—’IF I HAD A LOT OF MONEY I’D……

Travel around the world and start feeding schemes where I see the need. The thought of a hungry child drives me dilly.

12) DO U DRIVE FAST?

I used too, but now I have precious cargo!

13) DO U SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL?

Only if he ate too much – he-he…couldn’t resist that.

14) STORMS–COOL OR SCARY?

I love thunder storms and rainy weather is right up my alley.

15) WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST CAR?

A VW City Golf Sport

16) FAVOURITE DRINK?

I don’t drink wine for religious reasons, but I would most probably have been a red wine person. Rock Shandy at the moment.

17) FINISH THIS STATEMENT-IF I HAD THE TIME I WOULD…

Travel with my family.

18) DO YOU EAT THE STEMS ON BROCCOLI?

If I make soup,yes!

19) IF YOU COULD DYE YOUR HAIR ANY OTHER COLOUR, WHAT WOULD BE YOUR CHOICE?

I have 2 color streaks in my hair – my daughter says I have sunlight in my hair!

20) NAME ALL THE DIFFERENT CITIES/TOWNS U HAVE LIVED IN?

Ceres, Paarl, Stellenbosch, Somerset West, Port Elizabeth and now Cape Town

21) FAVOURITE SPORTS TO WATCH?

We are rugby fans.

22) ONE NICE THING ABOUT THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU?

She inspires me to be a good mother – her love for her family is very transparent.

23) WHATS UNDER YOUR BED?

My own husbands shoes!!!!Hopefully.

24) WOULD U LIKE TO BE BORN AS YOURSELF AGAIN??

For a long time, not, but self-acceptance came with age.Now I am comfortable in my own skin.

25) MORNING PERSON OR NIGHT OWL?

Definitely a morning person, but I can also work late if I have to.

26) OVER EASY OR SUNNY SIDE UP?

Sunny side up and I hate it if the yoke breaks in my plate. I eat the yolk last and let it explode in my mouth.Mmmmmm!

27) FAVOURITE PLACE TO RELAX?

In the car while driving – I drift off to faraway places.(that’s if hubby drives of course)

28) FAVOURITE PIE?

Lemon meringue

29) FAVOURITE ICE CREAM FLAVOUR?
 Lemon sorbet and the darkest chocolate available
30) OF ALL THE PEOPLE U HAVE TAGGED, WHO IS THE MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND FIRST?

Rose & Thorn

I would like to get to know the following bloggers a bit better.

1.Rose & Thorn
2.My sweet and saucy
3.Isha’s Kitchen
4.Gild the voodoolily
5.Lick your own bowl

I also was blessed to receive an award from Janna at Honeyed Hashette and I would like to pass it on to 5 bloggers who I think is beyond excellent. All 5 nominees inspire me with their fantastic photography and I often glare at their pictures to try and steal with my eyes……not much success though, they are just brilliant!

1. Peter at Fotocuisine
2. Cafe Lynnylu
3. Tastes like home
4. Scrumptiousphotography
5. Mango Power Girl
Please feel free to pass this Meme and award on to others that inspire you. If you don’t want to play along, just rest assured that I am inspired by you!!!

