Grilled Halloumi Cheese with Citrus Salsa

I have always loved cheese, all kinds really.I know that my knowledge on cheese is so inferior to some of you fellow bloggers out there,that is why I have embarked on a quest to learn more about different cheeses and their origins.
Bear in mind that I have 2 small children and a husband that says: “don’t play with my food”, so my tasting and trying is therefor limited to me visiting the odd cheese shop or a market or food show here and there. Slowly, but surely I am introducing my family to different kinds of cheese.

Last week I made the Brie and Peppadew tart that went down well, so on the weekend I tried them on Grilled Halloumi or “Squeaky cheese”.( This is Peter from Kalofagas’s phrase) If you want to learn more about Halloumi, click here or here
I used my griddle pan for this and I was quite happy with the results. I served it with a simple salad/salsa – tomato, avo, cucumber and orange with a simple dressing made from olive oil, lemon juice and zest, salt and a pinch of sugar.

The verdict
My daughter – did not like it at all, which is odd, because she LOVES melted cheese.
My son – I love this ma…..I can taste mint!(Ga, was I impressed with this comment!)
Pappa Bear – well, it is not steak, but for now it will do….
So I guess I am back to roaming the area on my quest for a cheesy nibble or two.

