Brie and Peppadew Tartlettes

I am sure that by now you have spotted a few changes around here with very little changing on the recipe side of this site, but rest assured…. We spent LONG nights trying to just come up with a new header.
In the process we lost the original one and we had throw together a few quick ideas. After much thought, I think I have found a header that I am happy with – I trust that you are too. I still have to tidy up the site a bit, but for now “This is it!” Let me know what you think!

I had a lot of help from the Pappa Bear and “The Cooksister“,and for that I am eternally grateful.
There are many other exciting things about to happen on this site, so watch this space!
I ran out of time the other night and had to quickly make supper – the children, by the way have been so patient with “Mommy” being lost behind her desk, but they know I will make it up to them soon.
I had a piece of Brie in my fridge that was about to “run off” somewhere and I had a roll of puff pastry in the freezer…..aaaahhhhh!!!! How about Brie and Peppadew Tarts? Now, many of you do not know what Peppadews are, but the people over there assured me that their marketing campaigns in the UK and USA are up and running so you should find these gems on your shelves pretty soon. If you go to their site, you will find lists of outlets too. Anyway, let me get back to my recipe… I basically made “over-sized” vol-au-vents and baked them halfway, put 2 slices of Brie and some chopped Peppadews in each little tart and baked it for another 5 minutes. It was not the prettiest tarts that I have ever made, but it tasted delicious with a fruity coleslaw. The combination of the cheese, pastry, raisins, heat from the peppadews and nuts just worked.

Coleslaw

3 Cups finely shredded cabbage
125 ml roasted almonds
125 ml pitted raisins
1 heaped Tsp Dijon Mustard
1 heaped Tsp sugar
200ml good quality mayonnaise
Mix everything together.

