Honey and Pear pudding…..

Easy, simple and versatile recipes are my motto, you all should know by now. I love basic recipes that you can adjust to suit the occasion and the ingredients that you have available. Last weekend on the Cape Good Food and Wine Show I found this delicious raw honey, called Mac’s Honey. Mr Mac himself had all kids of flavors, from Euculuptus(unique to the Western Cape) to Orange blossom, but I wanted a big piece of honey comb to take home. Nature’s own Bubblegum.Well back to the basic recipes.
This classic sponge cake recipe is one of those recipes. You can change it into a chocolate cake, poppyseed and orange cake, coffee and walnut, upside-down pineapple cake or you can use it to make Honey and Pear pudding.
What makes this even more amazing is how easy it is to throw together.

Honey and Pear Pudding

For the basic sponge

225g self-raising flour
225g soft unsalted butter(I used salted, because I always add salt to any recipe to bring out the flavor)
225g caster sugar
3 tbs milk
4 large eggs.
inside of 1 vanilla pod

Preheat oven to 180C

Grease and line 2 x 20 cm/8in cake tins with baking parchment.
Put all the ingredients in a food processor and mix well.
Pour into cake tins and bake for 25min or until cake skewer comes out clean.
Remove from tins and use your favorite frosting or just cream and berries.

For the pear and honey pudding
Grease 6-8 cups or ramekins
Cut 2 vertical slices from the middle of a pear for each cup – I used 2 pears per cup because I wanted both slices to have a little stem.Slices about 3mm thick. I used leftover pears for pear crumble. Line the inside of a cup or ramekin with the pear slices with the stems sticking out. Now carefully spoon batter into cup until 3/4 full. Sprinkle nuts or coconut over the batter and bake until skewer comes out clean.
Let it cool slightly and remove from cups(carefully). Drizzle with honey and serve with fresh cream. A very rustic looking pud, but I can guarantee the taste…delicious!!!!

I also have been fortunate enough to receive not one, but two awards. The one Blogging with a Purpose Award I received a while back from the wonderful Ingar over at Taste Memory. She is one of my regulars and she always uplifts me. She is on a ” Good and healthy food Quest and if healthy is your thing, visit her for lots of inspiration and ideas.

The other award, I received yesterday and it is from the lovely Kate from Paved with good intentions It is the I Love You This Much Award and it has the cutest little badge ever!”That girl” is always around in the blogosphere and never misses a visit. She is truly a dedicated blogger friend and a excellent cook herself.

I can not possibly think of only 10 people to send this award to. I feel that every one of you fellow bloggers are “Blogging with a Purpose” and that “I love you all This much!”.Consider you all awarded and you may gladly show these little badges on your sites. Well deserved!

