Quiches and more quiches for you…..

In French cuisine, a quiche is made primarily of eggs and milk in a pastry crust. These simple ingredients form just the base of the recipe with the list of possibilities as wide as your mind (and taste buds) will allow.
The recipe I am sharing with you today was given to me by my sister, who claims she is not a good cook (a blatant lie, of course). I adapt the ingredients to what I have available and what my family likes. So whether you like it simple of something a little more elaborate for a special event, this is the recipe for you…..

Broccoli, feta and Peppadew quiche

For the crust( Recipe courtesy of Epicurious – I adapted their cheese straw recipe)

1/4 pound coarsely grated extra-sharp Cheddar (1 1/2 cups)
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons
1/2 teaspoon salt
Rounded 1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1 1/2 tablespoons milk

Pulse cheese, flour, butter, salt, and cayenne in a food processor until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add milk and pulse until dough forms a ball. Line a quiche pan with the dough and let it rest while you make the filling. (If you have dough left, cut it into strips, give it a twist and make your own cheese straws.)

For the filling
1 bottle(300ml) salad dressing(I used feta and garlic for this quiche, but choose your own to suit your ingredients
( for this purpose, I buy the best I can, but for salads, I make my own.)
250 ml sour cream
1 x 250 gr cottage cheese((I used cottage cheese with chives)
6 eggs
Mix everything together and pour over desired filling in pastry case.

I used lightly steamed broccoli florets, cubes of feta and peppadews. (Add herbs of your choice if you wish)

Bake the quiche for 30-35 minutes until the middle is still soft and a little wobbly. Serve with a simple green salad.

The list of possibilities are endless: bacon and mushrooms, butternut and feta, spinach and feta etc.

