Faking with figs…..

We had a very busy weekend, but not much happened on the culinary side. We took the church youth out and we just made “boerewors” rolls( our SA version of a hot dog). On Sunday my sister and her family came to lunch and we did the normal Sunday Roast Leg of lamb, sweet potatoes, green beans and roast potatoes. A tasty meal, but not one worthy of a photo.

Today, I found a few fresh figs in the fridge and have never roasted them before, so I thought I’d give it a go.

I could never just leave a fig, like God intended it for us to enjoy, so this is what I did.

Slice a cross on each fig and open slightly. Sprinkle a little sugar and a teaspoon of sherry on each fig and roast in oven for 10-15 minutes at 180 C. I served it with a little Greek yogurt with a little sugar and the inside of 1 vanilla pod.

I also decided this morning to just take a few hours and go through as many blogs as I could. I came across so many versions of Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake that I just had to show you my version. I made this cake a while back for a small wedding and I used just a basic classic vanilla sponge. I layered and covered the entire cake with white chocolate mousse and then decorated it with sheets of white chocolate – I even made a little flower pot with the chocolate. This is by no means a Tuesday with Dorie effort, but just my idea of a perfect party cake.

