Roasted butternut with rice pilaf….and Lentil curry.

I was away for the weekend, therefor the absense of new recipes, but I will make up today by posting 2 recipes. I decided to go vegetarian tonight, because we ate way too much meat again this weekend. The result…we all feel sluggish and tired… When I think of vegetables, the first one to come to my mind is butternut, I just love it….

I found these mini butternuts today and saw in my mind that I had to fill them with something..what? I decided on a simple rice pilaf with the veggies I had in the fridge – zucchini’s and peppadews(a Proudly South African product. I also used Basmati rice, because I had already cooked some for the Lentil Curry.
 

Roasted butternuts

Cut the butternuts in half, bake in the oven for 30 min at 180 C. Saute the zucchini and peppadews and add the rice. Fill butternuts and sprinkle some almonds on top and bake for a further 10-15 min. (You can sprinkle some grated cheese on top if you feel like it)

Lentil Curry

Ingredients

Vegetable oil
1 onion
2 clove garlic
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground turmeric
2 tsp curry powder( adjust to taste)
1 stick cinnamon
1 star anise
150g (6 oz) butter lentils
750ml (1 1/4 pints) water or vegetable stock
1 tin tomatoes
Salt
Sugar to taste

Instructions

1 Chop onion and garlic. Heat the oil in a large saucepan, and fry the onions and garlic with the spices for about 5 minutes over a moderate heat.
2 Add lentils, tomatoes and water, bring to the boil and simmer for 30 minutes. Add more water if it gets too dry and starts to stick to the bottom of the pan.
3 Season to taste.

Serve with Basmati rice, sambals and poppedums.
My family like a sweeter taste, hence the sugar. Feel free to omit, if not to your liking.

