Napoletana and Pesto sauce…..

Pasta with just a plain Napoletana Sauce and Parmesan is one of my family’s all time favorites and I have received numerous compliments on my version of this popular sauce. So this morning, my sister brought me some tomatoes with the instruction: “make me some sauce, please.” I decided to just go crazy and make a few liters of the stuff.
I found many recipes on Google and they are all more or less the same. Where I differ though is that this is not a 30min recipe, because in my opinion the sauce must “slow-cook” and reduce to a lovely concentrated, red sauce. I have posted a Napoletana sauce, I know, but this is a huge recipe. Bottle in sterilized jars and store for a lazy night or share with friends…….

Napoletana

1kg ripe tomatoes, peeled and chopped(if you have – I used tinned, peeled whole tomatoes)
1/2 bottle white wine
½ cup olive oil
4 onions, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
vinegar, to taste
sugar, to taste
salt
Fresh herbs, such as oregano, basil and rosemary.

Fry onion and garlic in olive oil until it is translucent . Add all other ingredients and cook until sauce is thick and full of flavor.

While I was on a roll, I made some pesto with the last of the season’s basil.

But now I am tired and I am “Stepping out” …..See ya.

