Tapioca pudding…

I grew up with Tapioca Pudding and I was always intrigued by the “little balls”. As kids we called it “frog’s eggs”. My mom used to cook it on the stove and then bake it with little blobs of apricot jam – my dad liked it when, according to my mom, the recipe flopped and came out all tacky. Some people like it lighter and fold in beaten egg whites(see recipe), but I made mine straight forward.

My Tapioca was perfect and, as with most classic dishes, the family also loved it. My children especially liked the “frog’s eggs” bit.

Tapioca Pudding

-1/2 cup small pearl tapioca (soaked overnight)
– 3 cups whole milk
-1/4 teaspoon salt
– 2 eggs
-1/2 cup of sugar
-1 vanilla pod, scraped out – keep pod

1 Combine tapioca, milk, vanilla pod and salt in a pan on medium high heat. Stir until boiling. Simmer 5 minutes, uncovered at the lowest possible heat, adding sugar gradually.

2 Beat eggs and inside of vanilla pod in a separate bowl. Mix in some of the hot tapioca very slowly to equalize the temperature of the two mixtures (to avoid curdling).

3 Return eggs to pan with tapioca. Bring to a boil. Stir 3 minutes more over lowest possible heat. Stir constantly. You may cook a little longer than 3 minutes if needed to get to a nice thick pudding consistency.

Cool 15 minutes. Serve either warm or chilled.

Ps. If you want lighter and fluffier tapioca pudding, separate the eggs. Use the egg yolks to stir in first to the pan with the tapioca. When the pudding has become nice and thick, beat the egg whites in a separate bowl to soft peaks. Remove the pan of tapioca pudding from the stove, fold in the beaten egg whites into the pudding.

So, what is tapioca anyway? Click here!

Ps. I had to post this photo of the cinnamon stick – it is one of my favorite spices for both sweet and meat dishes.

