Copy my Chocolate Chip cookies with pleasure…..

The last couple of days I have just been reading other people’s blogs to see if I am on the right track. Well I saw very good blogs(my opinion) of which the Leftover queen and the Passionate Cook are just two, but I saw others that are also a work in progress like mine.

What bothers me is that I came across 3 bloggers who swore that they will never blog again, because of people “stealing” their recipes. Now this is my dilemma – I wanted to make Choc Chip cookies this morning and so the search begun. I found so many recipes and they differ only with a few grams here and a couple of millilitres there. In the end, out of fear that I might be accused of “stealing” a recipe, I opted for one of my old recipe books only to find that the recipe is almost identical to the recipes I found on the blogs. What is the point then of having all these blogs as references if you can’t use them and blog about them!

I understand the concept of making money from your recipes, but even then people can change the grams of flour by 1 gram and it will not be the same as yours anymore. My husband is in the packaging design business and people copy his designs all the time and then just make slight changes. In the end, I consider it a great compliment if people use your recipes and if you are so great, you will just think up some more.

I am sure you will go through my blog now to look for “stolen recipes” – you won’t find any. Yes, I often use other people’s recipes, but I do give credit where it is due. All I am saying is – Life’s too short to fight over petty things and there is space for all of us under the sun.

MY first ever Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 375F or 190C

Cream together:

110gr soft butter
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar

Beat until light and fluffy.

Add 1 egg and beat some more.

Now sift into butter mixture:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup self raising flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Add :

3/4 cup choc chips
3/4 cup chopped pecan nuts
1 heaped Tablespoon chopped orange peel(optional)

Mix all together and spoon teaspoonsful of mixture on
prepared baking sheet and slightly flatten with fork.

Bake 10 – 15 minutes. Cool and enjoy!!!!!

(The first batch, I rolled out and got a very dense biscuit, but batch 2 I just heaped with a teaspoon and slightly flatened it with a fork – perfect!)

