Morish Meringues!!!!!!


My sister and I are doing a lunch for the teachers at our children’s school to say “Thank you!” for the year gone past. For desert we want to serve mini-pavlovas with macerated strawberries, fresh cream and toasted almonds.
So this morning I had to bake 30 meringue cases and while doing that, I thought if I could make a dozen or so of these cases and keep them, I could serve beautiful deserts without much effort, this festive season. This recipe makes about 15 cases.



Meringues

6 egg whites
2 ml Cream of Tartar
pinch of salt
500 ml castor sugar

Preheat oven to 120 degrees Celsius
Beat the egg whites, salt and cream of tartar until stiff, but not dry.
Take 2 spoons and make little heaps on baking paper on a baking sheet. With the back of the spoon, make a little hollow.

Bake for 50 minutes and leave in oven to dry out.

Fill the little meringues with:
– Strawberries
– banana slices and caramel
– chocolate mouse
– fresh fruit of choice

Serve with whipped cream and ice-cream.

Start adding the sugar – a spoonful at a time. Beat well after each spoonful.

